Deciding to Be Myself with Book Decisions

Deciding to Be Myself with Book Decisions

It’s Day 90 of the Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Project and it’s been a busy one! I officially began working with my publisher to select the artwork for the front and back cover of Seasons of Her Soul. There are so many choices, and there’s a time frame involved to ensure the book releases by January as planned. That being the case, I could have gone with the first options that I liked, but knowing myself the way I do, I need to see all of the options in order to make an informed decision. If not, I’m the type of person who’d choose, then keep on looking until I found something I liked even better, which would make me regret my original choice. I’ve been known to play the “If I coulda woulda shoulda” game, and don’t want to do that when the stakes are so high.

The thing is, I know myself and what I like. For instance, when I went to purchase my first brand new car ever, I had my heart set on white but they didn’t have that color in town. The salesman told me he’d never lost one over color. “You’ll lose this one,” was my immediate response. So he drove a state over to pick up my beautiful white car. Eleven years later, I’ve still never seen one I like as much as the one I’m still driving. Set as I was on car color, that pales in comparison to how I want my novel to look. While explaining how time consuming looking at the options is to my hubby, he hit the nail on the head when said he knew it would be pink.

After several hours of viewing things that were almost it but not quite – the model wasn’t right, or the colors, or the decor, I felt a bit overwhelmed. Ready to take a break from it, I finally came upon some images where the woman truly resembles Lee, the novel’s heroin. She’s dressed the way I would have drawn her, has the right facial expressions, and her surroundings are Shabby Chic. I’m so close and know, if I follow my heart, I’ll find the image that matches what’s in my imagination.

img_0204.jpg
Saw this at TJ Maxx and snapped a quick picture. Confirmation that I need to be myself!

As a Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Chick who really does know myself, I decided today to be myself, not only with the selection of my novel’s cover, but with every aspect of its publication. And in the moment I did, the beautiful vision I hold in my heart for the cover of Seasons of Her Soul began to come to life. I can’t wait to hold it in my hands.

What about you? In what situations do you need to decide to be yourself? When you do, you’ll experience true beauty.

~Pink Collar Coach