It Doesn’t Have to Be Perfect to be Pretty

It Doesn’t Have to Be Perfect to be Pretty

Day 92 of the Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Project found me  pouring through images to try to find the perfect front and back cover for my debut novel, Seasons of Her Soul. I’ve always had a few non-negotiables around this – pink, roses, and a dark, curly haired girl that resembles my heroin, Lee, dressed in a vintage dress, all set in a Shabby Chic interior. I’m happy to say that after countless hours and mounting frustration, I finally found The One my heart was longing for. Actually, there are two images in the same room, one with the female model and the other without. There is only a bit of pink in each of the pictures, however, I can rectify that with the title and my name providing the pop of my preferred color. They’re not perfect (I need to get over myself a little on this one), still they’re SO quintessentially Shabby Chic and pretty.

img_0206.jpg
Simply Shabby Chic curtain panel, tablecloth, napkins & holders, table runner, flower cloche, plate box, cereal bowl, lantern lamp, journals, photo box, clock, and rectangular candle holder. The floral pitcher is Rachel Ashwell Treasures.                                                                                          All of the other items in the room are Shabby Chic inspired. 

 

 

Much of my search was conducted in the dining room, which also serves as my office. It has a lot in common with the final images I chose in that it’s not perfect, but it certainly is pretty. It’s also comfortable. And functional. Despite the stains in the chair from drinks spilled while people sat around enjoying one another’s company, or as children did their homework. Despite the smallish size and the oak china hutch I inherited from the other Tammy (hers is with a “y” as opposed to my “i”) and wish desperately I could paint white!

The reason I can still see the beauty is that I focus on the meaningful moments, like the chandelier and dining set that I purchased with money my beloved Daddy left me when he died too early at fifty-two, just four years older than I am now.  I see beauty in all of the authentic Simply Shabby Chic and Rachel Ashwell treasures I sacrificed to buy in order to furnish the townhouse where I created a home for my children and myself after my abusive wasband made me homeless.  I see so much beauty in the way I’ve poured my heart and soul into curating, collecting, and creating a space that is truly a sanctuary.

As a Pink Collar Savvy & Chic Chick who is a self-professed perfectionist, embracing the Shabby Chic philosophy of perfect imperfection comes easily for me when it comes to my home’s decor. I’m alright with old-fashioned and wonky and can’t imagine living in a suite full of furniture from a showroom. Relinquishing my idea of perfection when it comes to my book is not as easy. But it was possible. The images I finally landed on are described as “Dressing Table in Old-Fashioned Room” and “Young Woman Holding Dress”. Both make me nostalgic for days gone by. And the young woman’s hair conjures up Lee… While the images may not be perfect, they’re pretty perfect for beckoning readers to take a look back at the Seasons of Her Soul.

What in your life is pretty, even if it isn’t perfect?

~   Pink Collar Coach

Leave a Reply

