Use What You Do as Decor and Do it More (For Me, It’s Dance)!

Use What You Do as Decor and Do it More (For Me, It’s Dance)!

It’s Day 96 of the Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Project, and I didn’t get to dance! Although my day started with a phone call for me to proceed with getting my Zumba certification and teaching a weekly class at my local Y, the class I’d looked forward to attending this evening was cancelled. Of course I understand that instructors have things come up, but I’m always disappointed when they do and hate to miss a day doing something I’ve loved since I was a child and have incorporated into my adult life. So, since I have dance on the brain, I figured I’d blog about it.

Surrounding myself with images of dance is inspirational and actually motivated me to pursue a lifelong dream of teaching it. Growing up, we were too poor for me to be able to take classes, but that didn’t stop me from dancing every chance I got. I used to choreograph dances for the kids in my neighborhood and we’d have talent shows and invite anyone who’d come. I was a huge fan of Fame and Flashdance and feel like I actually channeled Jennifer Beal as I’d dance my heart out in my kitchen, especially to Michael Sembello’s epic “Maniac”. Like Beal’s character, Alex Owens, even without formal training, I could just dance. I don’t say that in a boastful way, I just feel the music in every fiber of my being. The lyrics from “What a Feeling” resonate:

Well, I hear the music

Close my eyes, feel the rhythm

Wrap around 

Take a hold of my heart

And much to the surprise of a Zumba sister, who startled me when she approached me last week, I do dance with my eyes closed! As an adult, I’ve taken ballet, tap and jazz. Then I took my first Zumba class and was hooked! When I’m dancing, the world disappears and it’s just me and my Maker – no matter the type of music. Like David (2 Samuel 6:14), I dance before the Lord.

But it’s not just dancing itself that brings me joy; it’s dance itself. I love the images associated with it. This is just a sampling of dance inspired decor displayed in my home.

IMG_0217
Charcoal sketch I recently purchased for under $10 at TJMaxx. I first saw a similar one in a Rachel Ashwell Shabby Chic book.      It hangs in my living room & draws the eye up to the cathedral ceiling.
IMG_0216
Photograph of a ballerina that sits on the floor opposite above. I love the similarities in the poses and the juxtaposition of the artworks’ placement. When coming down the stairs, you can see this ballerina peeking out from between the end table and the Shabby Chic style chair.                        Her pose draws the eye down. 
img_0218-e1502230152546.jpg
If you look closely, this oil canvas says, “Vivir con Passion”, Spanish for “Live with Passion”. This beauty used to occupy my cubicle a few jobs back but now inspires me every time I sit at the kitchen table. The plate rack I inherited when I married my hubby is one of the few decorative pieces I kept and it houses my collection of Simply Shabby Chic plates. 

As a Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Chick who believes in decorating with the things you do, I encourage you to fill your home and office with images or objects that reflect your passions. Be it animals (i.e. photos of pets in pet-themed frames), bicycling (I’ve seen an antique bike hung on the wall), gardening (tools set out on surfaces), flowers (real or artificial bring life to every room), a hobby (decorate with sewing or crafting paraphernalia), and sports (my hubby has golf trophies and newspaper clippings from tournaments on display, including a pink golf ball I added). Love to travel? Blow up pictures to re-live the experience. You get the idea…Use what you love as decor and you’ll be inspired to do more of it!

Can’t wait for Zumba tomorrow. : )

~Pink  Collar Coach

 

Leave a Reply

