Relational vs. Transactional Networking

Relational vs. Transactional Networking

Day 149 of the Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Project is one I’d been anticipating ever since Angel Hicks, the founder of H7, a business that focuses on relational vs. transactional networking, invited me to check out some of their events. For the past two weeks, I’ve gone to the H7 Connect meeting that’s held in my community, and while I’ve enjoyed this coed group and see the value of networking with everyone, the Evolve event, which is all women, is the one I wanted to experience. Today, it didn’t disappoint. Rather, it delivered in spades by providing opportunities to build relationships first. Those relationships may eventually lead to business transactions, but it was refreshing not to have it the other way around. Now that I’ve experienced it, since it aligns with who I am anyway, relational vs. transactional  will be my preferred networking style.

IMG_0496
Angel Hicks, founder of H7 and me, Pink Collar Coach. I layered a sleeveless shell with a little gold embellishment (better than a necklace for me- my hair doesn’t get tangled in it) and flyaway cardigan to be prepared for the rain, the cold, and eventually the unseasonably warm temps. My peep toes got another wear before being packed away for winter, and my pink bag – my fave!       All Calvin Klein. 

In coaching, I often tell those I train that building rapport and establishing the relationship with coaching clients has to happen before diving into the coaching agenda. Why first? Because people don’t care what you know until they know that you care. H7 is doing a great job at promoting a tweaked version of this: People don’t want to buy from you until they get to know you. And it’s working. H7 is growing and expanding its reach. Based on my experience today, I can understand why. I sat at a table with two other women who, at face value, were very different from me. Come to find out, we all have biracial children and we’re all in blended families. Seriously! You can’t plan that stuff. But God can. Talk about clicking. We clicked big time and scheduled time to see how we can support one another.

My faith is not something I hide, however, I don’t often go this deep with it on the blog. But this whole relational vs. transactional thing got me thinking about our relationship with God. Many view it as transactional as in, His son, Jesus, paid the biggest price ever when He died on the cross, so now we owe Him BIG TIME. And we do. Our devotion, gratitude and love.  Because He’s relational. He doesn’t want something from us as much as He wants to know us deeply. Whatever your beliefs, I hope that knowledge opens your mind and heart to the fact that all He really desires is to be in a relationship with you. Pretty cool, huh?

As a Pink Collar Savvy & Chic on Purpose Chick, I’m learning and growing every day and love sharing with you. It was so rewarding when Angel mentioned my blog in the meeting and complimented it. Of course I hope that you readers are enjoying my posts and that you’ll buy and read my book when it’s released. But more than that I love having the relationships. I’ve reconnected with women who I’d lost touch with through blogging and have gained new connections that inspire me to pour my heart out and write so that you’ll not only be engaged but encouraged. Angel’s business confirmed that I’m going about this the right way: relational vs. transactional. I may not be making money on the blog, but I sure get some amazing pay out!

If you’d like to learn more about H7 Evolve, please visit http://www.h7evolve.com. Thank you!

Be savvy & chic,

~Pink Collar Coach

 

 

